Better late than never

So, now I have a good excuse for not shouldering my responsibilities. Two weeks ago I fractured my right shoulder in a stupid accident so I haven’t been able to use my right arm and hand much. And even using my left arm and hand affects the right side so I am forced to take it slow and rest a lot.

But I have finally added to my Ravelry store, two designs that I published there shortly before the accident.

Aliette

Once in a while, I stumble upon a pattern that is so exquisite and eyecatching that nothing else is necessary. This unusual and beautiful lace pattern is one example. I actually found several different versions and, as is often the case with me, I just had to tweak it a little to make it my own.

Spectacular it is, so I ended up placing three panels side by side, with the center panel staggered, on the front of an otherwise plain sweater, trusting my lovely Silky Wool yarn in a wonderful color and unobtrusive narrow rolled edges to add the finishing touch. That, in all its simplicity, is enough.

The Lace pattern is charted only.

Angantyr

D8C_6723_Angantyr_SRGB72

is Viking Knits design. I will get back to that in a later post.

 

Gilda

D8C_4436_Gilda_SRGB72

Yes I know, not everyone has the type of body that looks its best in a knitted skirt, although a slip underneath will work wonders. But I just had to make this dramatic, almost gothic, skirt with its intricate lace border. It is worked from the top down to make the most of the pattern and it will look equally good worn with a belted white shirt.

D8C_4459_Gilda2_SRGB72

The Lace pattern is charted only.

Lexie

D8C_4477_Lexie1_SRGB72

This vest may not be for everybody, but for the right person it is dramatic as well as flattering.

I was experimenting with unusual garment shapes and came up with this little gem. Knit flat in two pieces, there is very little finishing. The overlapping edges of the fronts offer the opportunity to flaunt a favorite pin or brooch for fastening.

The lovely Misty Wool yarn gives the pattern interest and definition.

All knits and purls, charted pattern only.

Photo, as always, Anders Rydell.