Sunilda

d8c_4297_sunilda1_srgb72Sunilda, p 22 in The Second Viking Knits Collection, was initially knitted in Cotton Patiné, a cotton yarn that has been discontinued, witch had a slightly looser gauge than what I use for Silky Wool.

I knitted Sunilda in Silky Wool using the normal gauge of 22 sts per 4 inches / 10 cm  and it worked like a charm.

The original measurements were rather generous so its still works at a tighter gauge, the chest circumference is 95% of the original.

I just knitted from the instructions in the book, but if I were to re-knit it again, I would make the sleeves tighter, maybe remove 10 sts, 5 at each side, from the cast-on and all the way to the top. As a consequence I would have to make the armhole ¾ inch shorter by binding off for the armhole ¾ inch later than stated in the instructions.

I love it!

Sunilda

Sunilda, p 22 in The Second Viking Knits Collection, was initially knitted in Cotton Patiné, a cotton yarn that has been discontinued, witch had a slightly looser gauge than what I use for Silky Wool.

I knitted Sunilda in Silky Wool using the normal gauge of 22 sts / 4 inches and it worked like a charm.

The original measurements were rather generous so its still works at a tighter gauge, the chest circumference is 95% of the original.

I just knitted from the instructions in the book, but if I were to re-knit it again, I would make the sleeves tighter, maybe remove 10 sts, 5 at each side, from the cast-on and all the way to the top. As a consequence I would have to make the armhole ¾ inch shorter by binding off for the armhole ¾ inch later than stated in the instructions.

Photo as always Anders Rydell.

I love it!

